The School Council


As a volunteer council under the guidance of the Toronto District School Board, we value

  • each and every student;
  • a strong public education system;
  • a partnership of students, schools, family and community;
  • the uniqueness and diversity of our students and our community;
  • the commitment and skills of our staff;
  • equity, innovation, accountability and accessibility; and
  • learning environments that are safe, nurturing, positive and respectful.


Every year new members are elected (or acclaimed) into the three core roles of the Howard Public School Council (HPSC)’s Executive Committee. For the 2020/2021 school year, those are:

  • Chair (or Co-Chairs) – Taralyn Fodor
  • Treasurer – Lesley Brown
  • Secretary – Sima Gandhi

The Executive includes other members as appropriate given the needs of a particular year. This year, those are:

  • PIAC and Ward 7 Liaison – Alice Romo
  • Health & Safety – Andrea Thomas
  • Virtual Learning Liaison – Jen Johal
  • Communications – Samantha Rupert


The Howard Public School Council’s committees are the heart and soul of the Council and its impact. Volunteers bring their ideas, energy and talents to fill gaps and enhance the school experience for all Howard students (and some teachers too!). From year-to-year, the committees that are active will change based on the availability of volunteers. This year, the committees and their chairs are:

  • Arts – Alex Dean
  • Equity – Midori Miyamoto & Haley Gaber-Kat
  • Outdoor Learning – Kate Van de Ven & Kat Cizek
  • School Yard Revitalisation – Lee Greenberg
  • Sport – Kathy Narraway
  • Technology – Arturo Fuentes

To get involved with one of these committees or to create your own, email

One thought on “The School Council

Comments are closed.